



## 2<sup>nd</sup> International Conference on Hospitality and Tourism Management 2014 (ICOHT) - 2014

2<sup>nd</sup> International Conference on Hospitality and Tourism Management (ICOHT) - 2014 was successfully completed with more than 100 participants from more than 22 countries. Countries are namely Sri Lanka, India, Maldives, Bangladesh, United States of America, Norway, Germany, Poland, Australia, Switzerland, Italy, UK, Canada, Austria, Philippines, Malaysia, Indonesia, China, Japan, etc.

There were 46 oral presentations including parallel session by SWITCH-Asia under the theme of "SWITCH-Asia solutions to sustainable tourism in Asia" and also 08 virtual presentations. Moreover there were some local participants who representing Sri Lankan Universities and other professional bodies.

Primary objective of this conference was to create a premier forum for the local and international researchers, scholars and academicians to share their research results in the fields of hospitality and tourism management. We believed that we successfully achieved this objective during the conference. Moreover Secondary Objective of the conference was to attract high profiled tourists to Sri Lanka and use their knowledge and experience for development of the tourism and hospitality industry.

As per the schedule, conference was chaired by Prof. Sarath Kotagama and Dr. Chandi Jayawardena. 06 Key note speeches were delivered by Ms. Zoritsa Urosevic, Dr. David Ermen, Prof. Jadwiga Berbeka, Dr. D.A.C Suranga Silva, Ms. Catalina Etcheverry and Mr. Hiran Cooray.

The Chief Guest was Hon. Basil Rajapaksa- Minister of Economic Development, Sri Lanka. Guests of Honor were Hon. Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena- Minister of Investment Promotion, Sri Lanka and Mr. Bhashwara Gunarathna- Chairman, Sri Lanka Tourism.

Conference schedule divided in to 07 main themes namely,

- Sustainable development
- Tourism policy, planning and governance
- Culture and heritage tourism
- Community engagement

- Destination marketing
- Shortage of quality hospitality employees
- Information communication technology

In the awarding ceremony organizing committee awarded 07 awards to best presenters in each session as follows.

## **Best Presentation Awards Winners**

- 01. Sustainable development Session
  - Dr. Robert Wimmer from Austria
- 02. Tourism policy, planning and governance Session Ms. Zilmiyah Kamble from Malaysia
- 03. Culture and heritage tourism Session
  - Mr. Wang Wenhui from China
- 04. Community engagement Session
  - Mr. Mohamed Nafiz & Mr. Jamseed Rasheed from Maldives
- 05. Destination marketing Session
  - Miss. A.M. Prabodha Rathnapala from Sri Lanka
- 06. Shortage of quality hospitality employees Session Miss. Charuwan Phongpanichanan from Malaysia
- 07. Information communication technology Session
  - Assoc. Prof. Jan Velvin & Dr. Olaf Hallan Graven from Norway











